Wombats Spring Series

Wombats CC which had successfully conceptualized and hosted the Dubai Super League Cricket, came up with the concept of hosting a miniature version of the DSL , called the Wombats Spring Series which was played over 4 weeks towards the fag end of the cricket season in the Emirates. The thought was born when more cricket clubs / teams started showing interest in playing the DSL but were not in a position to commit to a series which was spread over 6 months and also involved a substantial commitment of their financial resources.

WSS as it is now popularly known became the staging ground for Teams which aspired to participate in the DSL but wanted to start off with participation in a mini version of the DSL.

The Series is designed to host matches involving 4-6 teams split into 2 groups with the winners of each Group playing each other for the WSS Cup.

Season 1- 2014-15:
The first season saw 4 teams – Wombats Yellows, Darjeeling CC, Dubai Stallions CC and HSBC CC – playing each other over 6 weekends with Wombats CC defeating Darjeeling CC in the finals with a stellar bowling performance of 5-0-26-5 from Ghanim Feroz of Wombats CC while their batsmen Tauseef Qadri and Omar Hayat scored half centuries to help the Wombats CC put up a massive total of 226 runs on the board.

Season 2- 2015-16:
The second edition saw 8 teams, split into 2 groups of 4 each, playing the Series. Poll A consisted of Wombats Blacks, Rowdy Xi, Stallions CC and Uninsurables CC while Pool B had Wombats Yellows, Falcons CC, The Cricketers Club and Dubai Stallions CC. Wombats Blacks and Rowdy Xi topped Pool A while Dubai Stallions and Falcons CC topped Pool B. The final saw Wombats Blacks take on Dubai Stallions and defeat them by a margin of 69 runs. Syed Raza from Wombats CC was the leading run scorer with 276 runs at an average of 69 while Adeel Safvi from Wombats was the leading wicket taker with 14 wickets which included 3 hauls of 3 wickets each and a 4 for.

Season 3 – 2016-17:
The third season again saw 8 teams battle it out for the WSS trophy.  4 teams in each pool played against each other


Wombats Ice came on top in Pool A by winning all 3 while Mideast won its 2 games to top Pool B. TCC outclassed Wombats Ice in the first semi while Mideast won its semi against Super 11.

The final game was won by Mideast metal by a whopping margin of 29 runs. Khurram Khawaja lifted the trophy for Mideast Metals after a well crafted campaign. Ali Anwar was named Man of the Match.


Season 4 – 2017-18:
Season 4 promises to be as exciting as the last 3 seasons and is scheduled for Apr- May 2018 and will be designed along the same format as season 2 and 3.
Watch out for an exciting season of cricket in 2017-18